Go to content

Welcome to our Hub of programs and services!


Huron Perth & Area Ontario Health Team
               Huron Perth and Area Health Care Providers Asked by the Province to Move Forward


Health News For South West               
Friday, July 26, 2019
In response to submitting  a formal Self-Assessment to the government, over 50 independent  healthcare organizations from across Huron Perth and area have been  invited to complete a full application to be designated as an Ontario  Health Team (OHT). The introduction of OHTs is a key piece of the  ongoing healthcare reforms across the province. The formation of OHTs is  intended to better integrate services around the patients, families and  caregivers.

Over 150 self-assessments were  received by the province as a result of this initial call for interest,  with 31 submissions being invited to submit a full application. In  correspondence received from the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care’s  Deputy Minister, Helen Angus stated that “the team’s self-assessment  submission demonstrated a strong commitment to all OHT model components  and showed a high degree of readiness to complete a full application and  potential to implement the OHT model.”
The Huron Perth &  Area OHT represents a collaboration of many partners including Emergency  Medical Services, Home Care and Community Support Services, Hospitals,  Long-Term Care, Mental Health and Addictions, Midwifery Services,  Palliative Care and Residential Hospices and Primary Care. This  collaboration is possible in part due to the strong relationships that  have been in place for years to serve the people of Huron Perth.

The  partners have volunteered to work together with patients and caregivers  to ensure the OHT is developed around the true needs of those using and  providing services. Ultimately, all provincially funded health service  providers will be expected to join Ontario Health Teams.

Initially,  the emphasis will be placed on: defining shared governance  accountabilities between the partners; including the important  leadership role of clients, patient partners and residents; and  identifying digital health opportunities that will make services more  accessible and progressive. The team’s initial focus will be supporting  individuals who have chronic conditions, those accessing palliative care  supports and individuals of all ages in need of mental health and  addiction services.

The deadline for submitting  the completed application is October 9th. In advance of this, there  will be significant discussion between the partners, frontline  healthcare providers, and with patients, families, caregivers and  community members from across the region aimed at ensuring that care and  support are well connected, sustainable, and designed around the needs  of the people using and working in the system.

**Key Contacts**

Bruce Quigley
President & CEO
Alexandra Marine & General Hospital

Cathy Ritsema
Executive Director
Alzheimer Society of Huron County

Debbie Deichert
Executive Director
Alzheimer Society of Perth County

Angie Dunn
Chief Executive Officer
Blue Water Rest Home

Angie Dunn
Chief Executive Officer
Blue Water Rest Home Community Connections

Paula Kroll
Executive Director
Bluewater Area Family Health Team

Archie MacGowan
Braemar Retirement Centre

John Robertson
Executive Director
Canadian Mental Health Association - Huron Perth

Beth Mitchell
Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Mental Health Association - Middlesex

Linda Knight
Chief Executive Officer

Judi Fisher
Executive Director
Cheshire Independent Living Services

Catherine Hardman
Executive Director
Choices for Change

Kimberly Van Wyk
Executive Director
Clinton Family Health Organization

Kimberly Van Wyk
Executive Director
Clinton Family Health Team

Sue Hillis
Executive Director
Dale Brain Injury Services

Dr.Sean Ryan
Lead Physician
Exeter Family Health Organization

Erika King
Exeter Villa

Sue Melkert
Executive Director
Family Services Perth-Huron

Cate Melito
Executive Director
Grand Bend Area Community Health Centre

Joyce Penney
Executive Director
Greenwood Court

Dr. Chuck Gatfield
Lead Physician
Happy Valley Family Health Team

Kelly Buchanan
Executive Director
Huron Community Family Health Team

Jeff Horseman
Chief Emergency Services
Huron County Paramedic Services

Jay McFarlan
Board Chair
Huron Hospice

Andrew Williams
President & CEO
Huron Perth Healthcare Alliance

Caitlin Keelen
Head Midwife
Huron Perth Healthcare
 Alliance Midwifery Department

Connie Townsend
Homes Director
Huronlea Home for the Aged

Terri Sparling
Chief Executive Officer
Huron-Perth Centre for Children & Youth

Kimberley Payne
Executive Director-South Huron
 Hospital Foundation Jessica's House Residential Hospice

Jackie Yost
Executive Director
Knollcrest Lodge

Karl Ellis
President & CEO
Listowel Wingham Hospitals Alliance

Dr. Stan Spacek
Maitland Valley Family Health Organization

Matthew Hoy
Executive Director
Maitland Valley Family Health Team

Jeff Renaud
Mitchell & Area Community Outreach

Mary Atkinson
Executive Director
North Huron Family Health Team

Dr. Rob Annis
Lead Physician
North Perth Family Health Network

Kathy Scanlon
Executive Director
OneCare Home & Community Support Services

Brian Dunne
President & Chief
Executive Officer
Participation House Support Services

Erna Koning
Director of Communications

Jeff Renaud
Ritz Lutheran Villa/Mitchell Nursing Home

Bruce Quigley
Interim President & CEO
South Huron Hospital Association

Peter Bolland
Spruce Lodge

Lauren Beer
St. Marys and Area Mobility Service

Dr. Chuck Gatfield
Lead Physician
St. Marys Medical Clinic
 Family Health Organization

Dr. Amanda Brown
Lead Physician
STAR Family Health Organization

Monique Hancock
Executive Director
STAR Family Health Team

Claudia Mior
Executive Director
Stratford Family Health Team

Jenny Mikita
Senior Services Supervisor
Town of St Marys Home Support Services

Sharon Goodwin
Senior Vice President,
Home & Community Care VON

Dr. Stephen Vander Klippe
Lead Physician
Wingham Family Health Network

Back to content